Comments/Ratings for a Single Item



It is not clear to me whether a Dragon can advance to or withdraw from (Ninja) Pawns. The rules here seem contradictory ("must capture" and "cnnot capture under any circumstances"). So I suppose it cannot make the moves that would normally capture on the square where the Pawn is at all.
For the Detonator I assumed Atomic capture, i.e. blowing up itself as well as adjacent friendly pieces. But perhaps this is wrong, and the Detonator should survive. (It seems too strong that way, though.)

The case of the Dragon is addressed tacitly in its second diagram: “in diagram it can only move without capturing along the line d6
–a3
”, i.e. away from the pawn. Iow like an Ultima Withdrawer, which captures automatically when possible, but can still withdraw w/o capture iff capturing is disallowed (only applying to friendlies in the Ultima case). Advancing isn't covered but can be presumed, I imagine, to work the same.

OK, I see. It can move, but it just doesn't capture.
This ban on capturing pawns was handled by a custom script routine embedded in the page anyway; I now changed that. Instead of rejecting a generated Dragon move that captures a Pawn illegal, the script now converts it to a non-capture by deleting the pawn as a locust victim from the move.
For the Detonator I assumed Atomic capture, i.e. blowing up itself as well as adjacent friendly pieces. But perhaps this is wrong, and the Detonator should survive. (It seems too strong that way, though.)
It does seem strong, but non-suicide capture is what is portrayed in the problem illustrations.

Indeed, it seems it survives. It is not clear whether it destroys own pieces, though. I suppose it doesn't, which would then make it similar to Tenjiku Shogi Fire Demon burning. Unfortunately the Diagram has no mode where it spares certain piece types for this (which it does have for Atomic captures). Perhaps I should implement this as another possibility.
7 comments displayed
Permalink to the exact comments currently displayed.